Summer 2015 Vogues are out

I really should be better about checking my email, but messing around on the interwebs today, I found out the summer Vogue collection has been released.  No, I still haven’t checked my email where I’m sure there’s a nice marketing email from McCall Co. telling me this.  Oh well.  I wish I could say that I were as jazzed about this one as the spring release, but most of it is not up my alley.  Am I admitting to pattern fatigue? Perish the thought!

V9100
V9100

This is my vote for the pattern most likely to be made up. I say this because I was wearing my old make of Butterick 5317 yesterday and while it’s a cute dress and I love the cotton sateen that I used on it, it’s not the best dress I’ve ever made. The darts from my FBA are frankly terrible and have bothered me from day one and it’s too low cut, which is totally my fault for not fixing that before cutting out. So I’m thinking that with the princess seams on this bodice and making big box pleats vice gathering, I could have an even better version of a dress that I was already wearing all season long. Total win there.

V9102
V9102

Yes, my eyes are bleeding from that fabric choice too, but I love godets more than anyone ought to, and I kind of want to mess around with this one. I am a little leery of the bust dart, but trying something new wouldn’t be a bad thing. It’s just fabric in the end.

V1446
V1446

I just want to point out that I love when the designer patterns have hard details. That’s kind of the point, right? If I’m looking at this right, there’s a boatload of tucks needed to make that bodice. The back cutouts on this dress are a nice touch too. I could see me starting this sort of project and never, ever finishing it. Know thyself, right?

V1449
V1449

Speaking of knowing thyself, there is no way that I could wear something like this and look like anything other than a dumpy troll. Now, there is nothing wrong with the dress per se, it’s just that my body type and it would never be on speaking terms. However, I think it could be really cute on the right figure.

V9120
V9120

I’m sorry, this is just a straight up mess. I can’t think of any reason that this bag should ever exist.

Leave a Reply

