Short knitting interlude

I wish I could say that I have been sewing up a storm this week, but I haven’t. I’ve been despairing about the (unknown) status of my poor Elna all week as potentially the gears are messed up and that would mean consigning it to the landfill, and I’m not ready to face that at all. So instead, I turned my attentions to my long neglected Wispy cardigan that I’ve had on the needles since last fall.

Wispyinprogress2

So close to the end, but so far from finishing, ahhhhhh! One thing I have learned about knitting is I stop caring about a project when I’m about two-thirds of the way through. The yarn is no longer exciting, the basic shape is there, and I’m tired of it. I want to be done but not have to deal with the actual process of finishing. There are people who don’t care about the finished product and just knit for enjoyment of the process. Who are these freaks? Much as with sewing for me, the process is a means to an end, and the biggest beef I have with knitting is the length of time involved in the process to get an end product that I want. I’m just about done with ball five of out of six for this cardigan, which means finishing up just in time for a sweltering summer where I won’t want to wear this.

One thing I have learned thus far is I really like the look of a thinner yarn for my knitting projects. Fingering weight just feels more right to me as opposed to worsted. No one could have convinced me of this when I first decided to start knitting, but like every hobby, there’s a learning curve. Anyways, off to enjoy my Mother’s Day bit of sewing time, wherein I think I’m going to make a new dress for the first time in a year.

Wispyinprogress
Oh, Trudy, don’t you look scandalous? Put some clothes on.

Leave a Reply

