Summer 2014 Buttericks

Way back in time, the parts of the sewing blogosphere that I follow would post reactions to the various seasonal offerings from the pattern companies, but I don’t see nearly as much of that today. I really liked those posts because of the variety of opinions, especially about patterns I wouldn’t look twice at. I buy patterns from all of the big 4, plus dabbling in Burda, but my favorite lines are Butterick and Vogue. It does not hurt that the McCall pattern company has a reasonably user-friendly website (I HATE Simplicity’s with a passion) and most of the time it is easier to buy from them than from Jo-Ann/Hancock. Now if only my mailman would stop trying to stuff the envelope in the box and leave them on the porch, I would be perfectly content. Anyway, all of that was to say, I was stoked to see Butterick’s new offering in my inbox this morning.

I have one piece that I loved, several that I liked, and one that I can’t decide how I feel about it. First up, B6053, which is the one piece from this collection I will probably make. It has lots of topstitching detail, looks perfect for linen, my summer fabric of choice, and separate cup sizes to make my life easier. Thank you, Butterick!

B6053

I love when you get past all of the patterns with photos and get to the line drawing only ones.  I know that some people swear that a lack of a pattern photo is a big caution sign, but for me, I enjoy the drawings of impossibly proportioned people.  I just try to pay more attention to the technical drawing to see where things could go awry.  Good thing for me because I would have never noticed this pattern otherwise.  B6060 has a skirt with a peplum for the lead drawing and I hate peplums. So ready for that trend to die already. However, View A and B have pleats that start below the hips and I do not have anything else like this in the pattern collection. I love skirts in warm weather and like this look a lot.

B6060

One of the fun things about having sewn for more than a couple of years now is to see the reissue of basics that you’re seen already.  Such is the case for B6061, which I already own but numbered from ages ago. I’ve never made it, and being as these look like the same semi-fitted pants that are in most of the wardrobe patterns, I could probably live without it. What I like though, is the styling of the pattern photo. Sometimes, the photos can be interesting (and not in the good way), but this one- yeah, I totally want to look like this next time I’m walking along Lake Erie.

B6061

I am a total sucker for the historical costumes, even though I’ve never made one up, and I’m not sure that I ever will.  Is there any way that I wouldn’t look twee as hell wearing B6074?  No.  But part of me still wishes I had an excuse to dress up as a Regency era lady just once in my life.

B6074

So this last one, I’m totally conflicted on.  It hits all of the appropriate swimsuit buttons- one-piece, retro styling, tons of ruching.  So why am I not sure about B6067?  The underbust seam seems off to me.  And this isn’t the first Gertie pattern where this has happened.  I get the aesthetic that is being aimed for, but in both cases, it looks to me to be a case of complete denial as to the usual shape of a woman’s chest.  I know that I can fix it easily enough by adding the needed depth to drop the seam under the bust, but part of me feels like I shouldn’t have to do so.

B6067

I mean really, if it looks like this on the model, how will this end up looking on me, who has quite a bit more in the breast department.  Either that seam is going to work down under the bust leaving the top as too boobalicious to contemplate, or the feeling of a seam flattening out the underside of everything as the alternative.  I want to love this pattern, but I just don’t know that I can.

Leave a Reply

